Extra Credit

Prodigy:

The interview with Prodigy, in my opinion, seemed to be very ‘out there’. I found this interview to be really difficult to connect with and also difficult to pull out something that I learned form it. I did find it interesting that he got his start in the music industry by standing on the street with a pair of headphones waiting for someone to listen to his song. From there he was able to start his music career. This reminded me of when I went to California, because when we went to Hollywood there were people doing the exact same thing. A lesson that can be learned from his experience is to never give up on your dreams. He believes that if you put forth the effort and try, then you will see results. I think that after listening to Prodigy’s story about how he was selling drugs at age 12, his dad telling him to go out and fight/ stab people, and how he was put in prison, this really opened by eyes to see that he overcame all of this stuff to become a successful rapper. He didn’t let his past stop him from pursuing his dreams. When I first began listening to his story I was thinking, there is no way that I have anything in common with him because he has lived such a scary emotional life. But as he continued I realized that I did learn the lesson of never giving up on what you want. I feel like this can connect with the song on my canon list called 100 Years because the song talks about living each day to the fullest and making everyday better than the last, and I think this is what Prodigy is trying to do with his life.

Leave a comment