Extra Credit

Elizabeth Gilbert:

I found this podcast to relate to our canon list in a way that Elizabeth talked about how she wanted to create a book about a women who was a very successful scientist but her work was never noticed because she was a woman, and women during that time were not valued as much as men were. I think this connects to the canon list because the same goes for that; not many books that are written by women are on the canon list for the same reason. I liked that she had the intention to create a character that would be so different, but yet women who read it would be able to value that person for the work they did. I found it interesting that she made her character have her success when she was in her 50’s rather than in her 30’s because after doing her research she found out that women during the 19th century actually did have success in there 50’s due to being widows, having more wealth, and children are growing up, etc. Another topic she brought up that I found to be very unique and different was that she said she went to communist Russia when she was a teenager and she said she was able to find out more about herself because she was lonely. I felt like I could connect with this because when your lonely you are able to think more about who you are, and whether you are able to be independent or if you need someone to rely on. I think that after listening to this podcast I was able to take away the importance of self confidence and how Elizabeth puts so much time and effort into her books and to her characters in order to make them connect to the women who need it the most.

Leave a comment